UP English
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Child psychology

5 posters

Go down

Child psychology  Empty Child psychology

Post by Julia Padiou Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:13 am

The coure I studied about Life Stories was not the most interesting subject as it was quite obvious, I did not learn something actually so I’ve changed I and decided to study : child psychology.
The only thing to retain about Life Stories is that it is crucial for everyone to talk about their experiences of life. Indeed, talking about its past can have a positive effect in the present and even in the future. It is really hard to move on in life when we are « blocked » by something in the past. Talking about it is a really good way to free oneself (se libérer). What’s more, sharing its experiences, its stories can help others to move on.

Concerning child psychology, the aim of the course was to understand how children develop and who and what influence their development.
The course had several points of study
first, what is child psychology ?

In this part, the course explains that child psychology is an important area to understand how children evolve in their life to become adolescents and then adults. It includes understanding how children think, react to situations, learn, develop skills and personalities . Overall, it studies the physical, social and emotional development of children.
The main question raised in this part is : are children different because of internal factors, genetic factors or because of external factors in their environment ?

In the second part of this course, two theories from authors that we all know very well are used and explained to understand children’ development :
-Piaget’s theory that stipulates that the development is internal, based on biology
-Vygotsky’s theory that considers external factors such as the peer and family interactions